Our Condolences

It will go down in history as one of the events that is so traumatic that you remember exactly what you were doing when you heard the news.

I was sitting on my couch at home. I had just finished homeschooling my kids and putting a load of laundry into the dryer. I sat down for a moment of quiet…and a quick check in with the outside world via Facebook. First, I read about the officer that was killed on duty in Memphis. She had four babies. Girls, like mine. As if that wasn’t heartbreaking enough, I kept scrolling only to find the name of a small Connecticut town over and over again in my feed. I brushed it off the first few times I saw it, but then saw the words “shooting” and “elementary school” and “kindergarteners” and that was enough for me to click the news link.

Tears. No words. Babies. Just babies.

In the midst of these heartbreaking days, let us wrap this community with prayers. Our President offered comforting words at the vigil held on Sunday. From everyone at The Bank, we offer our deepest condolences to the families affected by these tragedies. If you would like to help financially with the family of Officer Martoyia Lang, please click here.

Leave a Reply

