Employee Spotlight: Judy McQueen

Hard at Work

Where did you grow up? I grew up in La Grange and was a tomboy when I was little. I cried when I couldn’t go to the farm. Then I would “run away” to the gin to play on bales of cotton. The workers would have to catch me and walk me back home. The “switch” in my mom’s hand would be waiting!!

What are some of your hobbies? I like golf but working full time to support my husband’s golf habit keeps me from getting to play much. Also, going to Ole Miss Football games is one of my hobbies! I ride bikes and enjoy reading.

Where did you go to school? I went for two years at Fayette County High School then graduated from Brenau Academy in Gainesville, GA. I also graduated from University of Mississippi with Archie Manning as one of my classmates. That is my only claim to fame.

Are you married? I am married to Ricky McQueen, the golfer, and have been for 27 years. He has a son who is an Internist with Oshner’s Clinic in New Orleans. Molly, our 14 year old Rat Terrier, rules our home.

What’s your favorite book? What are you reading now? South of Broad by Pat Conroy is my favorite book right now. I have just started reading One Fine Summer by David Baldacci which I believe is going to be good, also.

What TV show do you watch religiously? I love House, Grey’s Anatomy, The Good Wife and The Closer.

How long have you worked at the Bank? I have had the privilege of working here for 6 years and hope I can continue for awhile!

What do you do at the Bank? I am the Human Resources person. I prepare the payroll and the insurance for the employees. I lend a shoulder sometimes and Kleenex when needed. I listen and let the person vent but do not give advice since I can look back on my own life and know that would not be a good thing to do!!

What’s your favorite thing about the Bank? The atmosphere at the bank makes you feel like a part of a big family. Everyone pitches in if there is a need for one of the fellow employees. We all do have our unhappy moments but that also goes along with being a part of a family. It is just a good place to work!

Leave a Reply

