Employee Spotlight: Cathy Mathis

Where did you grow up? I grew up in Henderson, TN.  

What are some of your hobbies? Attending my children’s sports events, coaching basketball, playing at the dog park with my dogs, movies or sporting events with my husband, hanging with my children and friends. 

Where did you go to school? Chester County High School, a little time at Lambuth College and graduated Barrett School of Banking. 

Are you married? Kids? Pets? Married to Jay Mathis (teacher and coach at St. Agnes, St. Dominic Catholic School), One married son, Andew Griffy and his wife Amanda (one grand dog, CoCo), 15 yr-old son, Grant Mathis (freshman at Christian Brothers High School) , 14-yr old daughter, Mary Cathryn Mathis (8th grader at St. Agnes Catholic School), 4 dogs (two basset hounds Aggie and Ellie, one wiener dog, Mattie and one lab, Murphy), 1 cat (Sox) almost 16 yrs old. 

What’s your favorite book? What are you reading now? Let’s Roll, from the 9/11 attacks.

What TV show do you watch religiously? I’m a TV junkie.  Big Brother, Hawaii-five-O, The Amazing Race and all sporting events with my family. 

How long have you worked at the Bank? 4-yrs last July.

What do you do at the Bank? I am the manager for the Piperton Branch.  I am also a lender. 

What’s your favorite thing about the Bank? First are my co-workers.  I have a wonderful staff here in Piperton.  I consider us more of a family than friends.  The people who work for all of our departments and branches are the kindest and most gracious people I have ever worked with. They truly care about each other. In the time of need, they are always there to assist each other with anything from money to food. I am a breast cancer survivor!  When I was out of work in 2010 with all of my surgeries, this bank took care of me and my family. The food, the cards and all the calls will never be forgotten. I always wanted to say “Thank You” publicly, and now I can with this blog.  I love you all for taking such good care of my family during that time. 

Second is our commitment to our customers and our community.  Our president, McCall Wilson, is adamant about our staff giving the best service and products to our customers.  Service is what I feel is our best attribute.  The majority of our customers love us and we love them back…just part of being a community bank! Plus, our staff is so good about volunteering our time at community events. Wherever we go, whether it’s football games, t-ball games, church, open houses or etc, we always are representing the best bank in Fayette and Shelby County!

2 thoughts on “Employee Spotlight: Cathy Mathis

Leave a Reply

